A sharp chef’s knife will make it much easier to cut onions without shedding a tear. But is there anything else you can do? We put several internet hacks to the test to find the best method to cut onions without tears. The Verdict: Let gum be gum. Save it to freshen your breath post-dinner. The Verdict: Eat all the bread you want, just not while chopping onions. The Verdict? Totally worth it. The Verdict? Not great, not terrible. The Verdict? Yes, but…see Method #6 for my even better, DIY solution. To be clear, I’m not saying that cooling your arm will stop your eyes from burning, exactly. But the act of standing over the sink and thrusting my arm into that cold stream of water led to relief. Maybe just bending my face toward the water reduced the amount of irritant reaching my eyes? I don’t know, but I do know that it worked! The Verdict? Roll up your sleeves!