I had several must-haves on my checklist. First, I wanted an L-frame sectional that could handle being the sole seating source in my relatively small living room. Second, it had to have a clean, mid-century modern look to fit my style, with legs that elevated the sectional off the ground to avoid a bulky look. It also needed to be comfy for tall folks (I’m 5'11" and my husband is 6'6") and hold up to my cat’s zoom sessions. Bonus points if the furniture was made domestically. After months of searching, I found my unicorn sectional—and I love it. While sleuthing on the internet, I stumbled upon Apt2B and instantly fell in love with its modern designs, variety of fabric options, and customizable touches. To buy: From $3,636 (was $4,848); apt2b.com The U.S.-made brand lets you pick 10 free fabric swatches to test at home to make sure they’re the right color and texture for your lifestyle. You can choose from over 50 velvet and woven fabrics in both bold and soothing hues. My swatches arrived quickly and allowed me to check them against the colors of my rug and wall because fabrics can look so different on your screen compared to the natural lighting of your own space. I also had the chance to test the durability of the swatches on my cat’s claws and to see how much her fur showed up on the material. (I highly recommend this step for all pet owners!) After gazing at the swatches for a few days, I settled on the poly-woven fabric in the charcoal color, which is kid- and pet-friendly and has a double-rub count of 100,000 for extra durability. Next up was choosing the sectional model I wanted. I went back and forth on a few stylish setups, but I eventually chose the Brentwood Two-Piece Sectional Sofa. I love the tufted, reversible seat back cushions as well as the angular wooden legs and surrounding trim. I chose the pecan leg finish to match my mid-century walnut pieces, but you can also opt for the espresso and natural finishes. Finally, I chose for my chaise extension to be on the right side of the sectional to fit my living room’s layout, but you can also choose for it to be on the left. The only problem? This sectional was slightly too wide for my space. I needed enough room on the left for a built-in cabinet to open, and space on the right so that the sectional wouldn’t be blocking the sliding door to our deck. That’s where Apt2B’s “Build Your Own″ sectional feature came to the rescue. The company allows you to customize the size of eight of its most popular sofa designs, including the Brentwood. You can choose from a variety of seat sizes, with or without armrests, and even choose a rounded corner seat for your sectional instead of a square look. I personally opted to replace the included left arm sofa component of the original Brentwood design with a left arm apartment-size sofa option to shave off a few inches. Despite the customization, the cost actually went down from the regular Brentwood sectional price. Apt2B kindly sent me my customized Brentwood sectional to test for free, and I’ve been sitting on it nonstop since it arrived in early March. It’s hosted a few friends, survived some spills, shows no wear from my cat scaling the back, and has been my saving grace for the first trimester of my pregnancy nausea. It strikes a great balance of style and support, and it still looks brand new. Plus, it comes with two matching 18-by-18-inch pillows. I’ll admit, having previously had a leather couch, I was nervous for how upholstery would hold up to a new baby, but I’ve been really impressed with it. Two messes—peanut butter and sour cream—simply wiped away with a damp cloth. If worse comes to worst, the cushion covers are reversible and can easily zip off for a trip to the dry cleaners in the case of severe spills. Apt2B’s sectionals start at $2,198, but thanks to the brand’s massive Fourth of July sale, now through July 5 you can snag 15% off sitewide, 20% off of orders of $2,999 or more, 25% off of orders $3,999 or greater, and 30% off of orders $5,499 or more. Plus, they’re made in California in just two to four weeks, so you won’t have to wait long for your new favorite seating. Apt2B also offers customized ottomans to match your sectional, and you better believe I’m planning to take advantage of this sale to grab one before my pregnant ankles start to swell. If you, too, have been searching for your dream sofa, now’s the time to shop and save—comfort and style are just a few clicks away.